Hot Topic

main-big_1464614712Well, global warming/climate change is plastered on the headlines again. Someone doesn’t like what someone else said about it. What’s new?

I’ve been hearing about this topic for nigh on thirty years now. First, it was the Greenhouse Effect. Then someone labeled it Global Warming. When the earth cooled a tad, the thing got a new moniker: Climate Change.

Now, that one, I can see. The climate does change a bit. I guess it covers the necessary bases to float whatever perspective you have on the issue. I don’t have to tell you, there’s little agreement between the opposing sides of this matter. One side calls the other “deniers” and says their refusal to believe the sky is falling should be criminalized. The other side called the others a bunch of hoax-ters spouting junk science and unnecessarily alarming the good people of planet earth. My observation is there is misinformation on both sides.

I’ve honestly never put any stock into the notion that climate changes are human-caused, nor that the changes are as significant and dooming as climate change disciples preach. On the other hand, I do believe we human types have a responsibility to demonstrate stewardship of the creation we inhabit. So, I’m fine with recycling and reusing stuff. I’m good with alternative energy sources within economic reason.

As far as all the doomsday stuff–ice caps melting, sea levels rising, and monster storms and unprecedented heat waves destroying the planet–I’m not buying it. Why not, you ask? Well, there’s this pesky promise in the Bible that I just can’t get out of my head. I know, you don’t view the Bible as a scientific source, or an authority on anything at all. But I do. And I’m writing this, so….

After God promised Noah that he would never again destroy the earth by flood, he added this rider to that promise: As long as the earth endures, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease” (Genesis 8:22). So, God, the Creator of all that exists, the one who alone has authority to judge or do anything he pleases, says the cycle of crop production, the temperatures, the seasons, and even the rotation of the planet on its axis, will go on as long as he chooses. Good enough for me.

Meanwhile, call me a denier, marginalize me with the other radical ignoramuses. I’ll just go on doing my part to take good care of this beautiful planet God has graced me to live on.

About Carey Crawford

Carey Crawford is the author of this blog-o-mania. He is a freelance writer, a missional strategist, and has served as an adjunct professor at Dallas Christian College. Carey has over thirty-five years experience in local church vocational ministry. He works as an Employee Ambassador for ProVia manufacturing in Booneville, Mississippi. He and his wife Patti host a weekly Sunday gathering in their home focused on helping people discover the joy of digging into the Bible through dialogue. Carey earned his Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry from Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary. Carey and his wife, Patti, live in Baldwyn, Mississippi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment